- Inmate Info
Goals and Objectives
The Rhea County Sheriff’s Department Training Division is responsible for:
The Rhea County Sheriff’s Department offers gun safety education classes several times during the year for persons interested in obtaining a Tennessee handgun carry permit. These classes involve classroom training and firing range training.
Classes are held periodically throughout the year. If you are interested in receiving this training you should contact the Rhea County Sheriff’s Department at 775-7837. You can be notified of the date and time of the next class. You will also receive helpful information about what to bring to the classes.
Lt. Mike Owenby is a certified firearms instructor and has provided handgun safety classes to hundreds of individuals since the sheriff’s department started the program.
You must be 21 years of age to attend the class and have no state or federal conviction that would prevent you from purchasing or possessing a firearm.
Each person completing the handgun safety class receives a certificate showing they have completed a certified handgun school. You should take the original copy of your certificate along with a certified check or cash as well as proof of citizenship to a Department of Safety Drivers license Station to make application for the handgun safety permit. If the applicant meets all criteria, applications are generally processed within 90 days.
During the application period, the applicant will be notified of a time and location to have their fingerprints taken.
Permits are good for 4 years and entitle the holder to carry any handgun in which they legally own or possess. Permits must be in their immediate possession when they carry a handgun. The permit must also be immediately displayed on the demand of a law enforcement officer.
To obtain more information about the handgun carry program log onto the Department of Safety website at http://tennessee.gov/safety/handgunmain.htm. Information is also available for new residents of Tennessee who possess handgun carry permits in their former state of residence.